Steal a Pencil for Me is a full-length opera (two acts), based on a true, fiercely optimistic love story that takes place during the Nazi period in two concentration camps. It is based on the book of the same title about one of the Holocaust’s most unusual love stories—between Jaap Polak, a Dutch accountant, and Ina Soep, the daughter of a wealthy diamond manufacturer from Amsterdam. A story about the indestructibility of the life spirit and the power of humankind to survive adversity, Steal a Pencil for Me explores intimate concerns and private dramas alongside the epic horrors of the Holocaust.

Music by Gerald Cohen
Libretto by Deborah Brevoort

Conductor – Ari Pelto
Pianist/Coach – Lynn Baker


Ina – Ilana Davidson
Jaap  – Robert Balonek
Manja – Toby Newman
Rudi  – Nils Neubert
Lisette  -Cherry Duke
Soep   – Matthew Singer